design, Fashion, jewellery, Lifestyle, New York, Style

Verameat

result-5

result-6

 VeraMeat, a little boutique I strolled into on a Sunday in Williamsburg, offers some of the most distinctive and beautiful jewellery I have ever seen. Its designer, Ukraine-born Vera Balyura, has created a range apparently inspired by (among other things) travel, maritime sagas and anatomical structures. I think it’s the latter I love the most – the brain and pelvis stand out as particularly great pendants, and I like things that are supposed to be ugly.

result-2

result-1

 VeraMeat sprung out of the East Village and now has shops across the US but the pieces, crafted from silver and gold, are still made in New York.

result-4

result-3

The prices are pretty reasonable, although while admiring everything in the shop I struggled to part with my cash (probably because the dollars just made it sound like loads of money). They range from $48 for some rings and $68 for some necklaces to hundreds – in some cases thousands – for the top pieces. I think I’ll have to get something online soon.

result-1

result-7

VeraMeatBKStoreImage100612_7082color

VMpage648

Standard

One thought on “Verameat

  1. Pingback: New York: vintage shopping | jennyvintage

Leave a Reply

