architecture, culture, Lifestyle, museums, Photography, travel

Sunday at Waddeson Manor

result

result-3

 I like helping my London friends escape the city and showing them that I do not, contrary to popular belief, live in a soulless mass of concrete. So when my friend and former colleague Farah came up to Milton Keynes on Sunday I took her down to Waddesdon Manor – one of my favourite stately homes.

I don’t know if there’s anywhere else quite like Waddesdon in Britain – it’s a Rothschild home built in the style of a French chateau, in Buckinghamshire. The house is imposing and incredibly ornate, and the gardens – overlooking clear, sloping lawns – are very formal. This is a perfect spot for Sunday afternoon picnics in the summer and is equally stunning in the frost.

result-1

result-2

result-4

result-7

result-6

result-8

result-9

result-10

Standard

Leave a Reply

