crafts, culture, design, food, Lifestyle, style, travel

Choccywoccydoodah

result-1

result-2

 One of the great things about giving up my job in London (which I had a very tiring commute to for years) is that when I go back for the day I look forward to it rather than dread the journey. I used to routinely turn down lovely invitations from friends who lived down there to see them at the weekends because for me the best thing about Saturdays and Sundays was being far away from the place. But since quitting my job at my magazine to be a freelancer a year ago I’ve started to enjoy London a lot more. And I couldn’t wait to make my pilgrimage to Choccywoccydoodah just off Carnaby Street when I went to see my good friend Ayesha.

I’d never tried their chocolate before but have been an avid fan of the TV programme since it started. I told my friends we had to get a picture of one of the Christines – the creative director and finance director – if we saw one but when Christine Two appeared in the cafe upstairs I was actually a little starstruck. True to her reality show image, she was pretty stressed. This excited me. Then Davide the cafe manager came out and I felt like our journey was truly complete.

result

result-11

result-3

result-5

result-8

 Not surprisingly, the chocolate is rather expensive. Little cats, dogs and ducks are between £10 and £30 so I just settled for a couple of standard bars for my mum and friend Erin. Even they were £10 each… While we browsed downstairs the lady at the till took a call about a bespoke cake. She quoted more than £1,200…

result-7

result-2

result-9

result-16

result-4

result-10

result-13

result-14

 We popped upstairs for a milkshake – get the hazelnut for £3 – and more pics of the furniture.

943639_10151485011108371_2077673892_n

result-15

I wouldn’t recommend taking your child to such an expensive sweet shop but it’s a beautiful place to take in great – and camp – design.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Choccywoccydoodah

Leave a Reply

