drinks, food, lifestyle, style, vintage

High time for high tea

I shamefully haven’t had high tea for a long time. The last time was when I made it for my good friend Auriol and we enjoyed smoked salmon and cucumber sandwiches with home-made white bread, home-made red velvet cupcakes and tiny scones… home-made, of course. I cut the mixture for the scones with a shot glass before I popped them in the oven so they came out all dainty, a perfect mouthful.

I broke out the white table cloth, my pink glass 1950s tea set, silver teaspoons and popped pink carnations in a 1970s gold-coloured coffee pot. Perfect. I’ll try and get some pics of this up soon.

But here is the last high tea I do have pics of – my friend Beth and I at Green Tea in Leighton Buzzard. They do a pretty good one and at the time it only cost about £6 a person – tea, a sandwich, a cake, a home-made scone with cream and jam and a surprise biscuit or second cake.

Image

I reckon it beats the afternoon tea at The Inn at Woburn nearby, which I thought served its sandwiches with too many holes in its bread and too much spread, not even real butter. Still, the bar at this place is lovely with large sofas, comfy arm chairs and a huge fireplace.

And if you’re serious about high tea it’s worth a pilgrimage because Woburn claims that Duchess Anna Maria, wife of the 7th Duke of Bedford at Woburn Abbey during the 1840s, invented the whole concept.

Standard

Leave a Reply

